Guest Reviews

Thank you to all who take the time to leave guest reviews about my exclusive, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in Cumbria. Comments left in my visitor’s book and on Tripadvisor provide me with wonderful feedback on Cheskin House, and give me ideas for future development to ensure I am offering the very best hospitality for you.

I hope you’ll enjoy browsing through guest reviews here. Contact me here if you would like to make an enquiry. Alternatively, call me on 015395 87667 to find out more.Signature Edwina cropped

 

“From arriving, Edwina made us feel so special, nothing was too much trouble, everything is exquisite, all home made food, the evening meal was designed around us, the rooms were spotless, everything is thought of even lemon slices next to the water in the room, beautiful decor and little finishing touches making it an amazing overnight stay.” (Flawless – Excerpt from Tripadvisor Review) – February 2017

“This is so much more than a Bed and Breakfast this is real rest and relaxation that my husband and our friends had not experienced before from any top hotel. I recommend a two day break here above any fancy spa or 5 star hotel. Edwina is charming, interesting and above all an amazing host…do yourself a very big favour this summer and take some time to visit you will leave a different person. The only question my husband and I need to answer is not if we are coming back it’s when!” Jamie (Pure Love! – Excerpt from Tripadvisor Review) – February 2017

“Edwina is a superb hostess with a wealth of knowledge about life, fine wine and local fresh produce. The breakfast selection is unbelievable, the dinner experience is a must. We stayed in the champagne room which is pure luxury. Our stay was amazing from start to finish.” Darren & Lorraine (The most relaxing stay we have ever taken -Tripadvisor Review) – March 2016

“My wife kept our destination at Cheskin House a complete secret until our arrival at this beautifully restored and furnished guest house, a stone’s throw from the unspoiled Howgill fells. Edwina is a friendly, welcoming hostess who’s great passion is slow food: every mouthful (and glassful) was prepared and served with an infectious enthusiasm and a rare attention to detail. This was an outstanding long weekend and I can’t recommend Cheskin House highly enough to anyone who takes pleasure in what they eat and drink. You simply couldn’t find this quality in any regular hotel or restaurant. The local landscape offers great walking without too much effort: go equipped with a good OS map. A return trip is a must for us!” David (The best birthday surprise – Tripadvisor Review) – October 2015

“Why can’t we give six across the board in all categories?? That is what Cheskin House deserves: an enirely oustanding guest house, run by the entirely wonderful Edwina….. Our level of appreciation didn’t seem like it could get any higher – and then it did, with the food. Oh! The food… We opted for Edwina’s set-menu home-cooked evening meals both nights (though for the word ‘meal’, substitute ‘feast’). This is slow-food/local-ingredients/imaginative-dishes/world-flavours deliciousness. And it just kept on coming: afternoon tea…dinner…breakfast. Foodie paradise.” Andrew (More than outstanding – Excerpt from Tripadvisor Review) – July 2015

“It wasn’t just the homemade meal that was lovingly prepared or the beautiful, cozy room where our exhausted body and soul found refuge. It was Edwina and her graciousness as a host. She is what makes Cheskin House an experience that will never, ever be forgotten”.
Frankie – (Tripadvisor review) – December 2014

“We stayed at Cheskin House, and Edwina the owner was a fabulous person and wonderful cook. I have not stayed anywhere that could match the high standards and food. Jamie Oliver has competition! The Sancerre room was very comfortable and we both slept very well. We both felt as if we had spent time with an old friend who provided us with company, and ensured we enjoyed our stay. Please visit Cheskin house for a wonderful experience or you will realy miss out. Thank you Edwina for three enjoyable days we hope to return soon”.
Louise – (Tripadvisor review) – December 2014

“We were made very welcome. The rooms were luxurious. Owner was very friendly and supportive. Afternoon tea on arrival was a treat”.
Linda – (Book online review) – September 2014

“Had a fabulous three night stay at Cheskin House. Made welcome from the outset, lovely drink and treats on arrival, the long journey was soon forgotten. Outstanding Champagne room, lots of space and superbly appointed. Absolutely amazing breakfast, Edwina really likes to make it an occasion with so much available. Ideal location for a trip to the lakes, the dales or just to set out on foot and explore. We had a day on the Settle to Carlisle railway, the nearest station at Kirkby Stephen being just a few miles up the road. Two really nice pubs just over a mile away in nearby Ravenstonedale. We left feeling totally relaxed, thanks for a really enjoyable stay.”
David – Burton on Trent (Tripadvisor) – August 2014

“From the moment we stepped across the threshold of Cheskin House and into Edwina’s wonderful home and company, we were treated to an experience neither of us had come across before. A really lovely lady, who genuinely cannot do enough for you to ensure your stay here is as comfortable and memorable as possible. We stayed for two nights B&B and were made to feel so at home. And the food! Breakfast was an assortment of fruit smoothies, yoghurts, chocolate banana bread, sausages, bacon and eggs, with some dishes we had never tried before, each as delicious as the next. We opted for dinner one evening…there are no words. Each dish is drawn from Edwina’s own experiences from all over the world, along with her own passion for good food. We were offered the opportunity to visit Edwina’s (famous!) wine cellar to pick the wine to accompany the meal. Absolutely fantastic, cannot recommend this charming little place enough. I’m sure we will be back again one day soon.”
Lucy and Michael – Cheshire (Tripadvisor) – August 2014

“We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast and had one evening meal. This luxury B&B only has 2 rooms: we stayed in the “Champagne” room and it was sumptuous. But first, the welcome … the owner Edwina met us and immediately offered us a “cup of tea”. Warning: do not eat just before you arrive or you won’t be able to do justice to the beautiful home-baked cakes and scones which accompany the tea, which was served in a guest lounge.
Our room was spacious, luxurious and full of lovely little touches, e.g. a decanter of sherry, a bowl of fresh fruit etc. Furnished to a very high standard and extremely comfortable – we felt immediately at ease. The bathroom was lovely, with a large standalone bath, separate shower etc and very nice, locally produced toiletries.
The evening meal was a delightful experience. Ask to see the wine list and you’ll be escorted to the wine cellar and asked to choose your wine in advance from a very impressive selection. We chose an Amarone, which was superb and yet cost us barely any more than if we’d bought it in a shop ourselves. I’d go back to Cheskin House just for the “wine list”!
The food was excellent; it was served by Edwina herself at a pace which allowed us to savour the tastes and relax between courses. Breakfast was a treat – again lots of home-made bread, fruit dishes, local produce in the “Full English” – you won’t need a lunch.
All of this is presided over by the inimitable Edwina. A thoroughly delightful host full of fascinating stories (she’s just got back from driving to Beijing!). Cheskin House sets the standard to which other B&Bs should aspire – we’ll be back.”
Neil – Liverpool (Tripadvisor) – August 2014

“It has all been said before……… a special place to stay either as a couple or with friends. We took both rooms and had a delightful evening with family, the lovely dinner cooked by Edwina was delightful, and for the first time in years we were given a proper cheese board. I particularly enjoyed picking a couple of bottles of wine from her cellar, it was a pleasure to look through the racks and thinking about what I fancied drinking with dinner, far more enjoyable than looking at a printed list.
I can only say that we plan on visiting Cheskin House again and again over the years to come. Thank you Edwina”
Werlynne – Manchester (Tripadvisor) – August 2014

“Cheskin house has a unique quality you could not replicate in any other guest house, boutique or luxury hotel. All elements of the setting and the house offer total escape. Gorgeous! Edwina’s unmatched hosting style clearly comes from her own vast experience through a lifetime of exotic travel. She made Cheskin House a sanctuary of luxury and Epicureanisism”
Miriam – Booking review (Hidden Sanctuary in Cumbria) – August 2014

“Total indulgence was unavoidable!”
David – Booking review (Falling into the lap of luxury) – August 2014

“I have stayed in many B&B’s in America where I come from. This was my first in England. Everything about this tranquil B&B met every expectation for us. From the location to Edwina and her cooking that she makes FRESH for you everyday. She puts so much love into her food and you can taste it.. The rooms are beautiful and spotless. She makes you feel so comfortable in her home. This retreat would be on my list if I lived in England at least twice a year. Thank you Edwina for sharing your home and your delicious home made cooking”
Cece – America (Tripadvisor) – August 2014

“Edwina made us feel welcome from the moment we knocked on the absolutely stunning Cheskin House. All of the food including the afternoon tea Edwina prepared for us on our arrival was home made and delicious. The rooms are of a very high standard and the decor follows the rest of the house with Edwina’s eye for interior design. We had a wonderful stay and it was an absolute pleasure to meet and converse with Edwina. We will definitely be returning if not just to experience dinner. Thank you very much. Well worth the money.”
C Plummer – Laterooms review (Hidden Gem) – July 2014

“We arrived to a warm welcome, afternoon tea and the most delicious array of home-made cakes and preserves. Edwina is not only a fascinating person to chat to, an adventurous traveller and a great cook (she produced a wonderful three-course evening meal for us), she is a wine expert with an impressive wine studio and, above all, is a charming hostess. We found Cheskin House by a chance internet search and consider ourselves extremely lucky to have experienced one of our best ever bed and breakfasts. It is located just a short distance from the M6 and we will not hesitate to return whenever we pass that way again.”
Lindiana – Guildford (Tripadvisor) – July 2014

“From the warm welcome to the beautiful room this was a wonderful place to stay for a weekend in the Dales. The personal touch is clear and nothing was too much trouble. We didn’t eat in for the evening meals, but judging from the quality of the breakfast (I recommend the banana bread!) and the look of the wine store, I would expect those who choose to would be in for a treat”.
Tom P – Newcastle – March 2014

“Absolutely fabulous! Food was superb as was our hostess. Thank you for one wonderful experience”
Hugh, Cathy, John and June – Wirral – November 2013
“Comfort, luxury and delicious food. As always, a wonderful time spent together. More great memories”
Russell and Helen Sedgley – Bridgenorth – October 2013
“A completely lovely and relaxing stay – thank you! Excellent food, wine and company!”
Carol and Paul Stallard – Lancashire – August 2013
“It’s all been said! Every niche and corner reveals beautiful things. Food and ambience wonderful”
Mary and Brian – Yorkshire – August 2013

“Any words to describe the hospitality of Cheskin House would be an understatement. We had an unbelievably memorable stay, with dining one would not even find in a 3 star michelin restaurant. Immaculate attention to detail. Well worth our visit from the USA and we will be returning”
Amir and Yana – New York – June 2013

“Luxurious, relaxing, incredible food and fine wines. Thank you Edwina for your hospitality and attention to detail”
Marcel Theroux (author) – London – February 2013
“From the moment we arrived to a roaring log fire and freshly baked cake, Edwina gave us the warmest welcome. Fabulous room and an incredible dinner. A most enjoyable stay!”
Dianne and Matthew Grattan – Sandbach – February 2013
“Wow! Wow! Wow! You will not find a better welcome, be better fed and watered and feel so relaxed any where in Cumbria and beyond!”
Sue Morton – Collingham W. Yorks – December 2012

“Such attention to detail: décor, food, wine selection and the warm welcome were the outstanding elements of our all too short stay at Cheskin House. Edwina’s memorable cooking and our candlelight soak in the supersized bath makes us certain we will be back for another stay! “
Val and John Reynolds – Welwyn Garden City – November 2012

I love to host dinner parties and other dining celebrations for private parties of up to eight people. The dining reviews below will give you a flavour of both my cooking and the hospitality you can expect when you visit Cheskin House for a special occasion. Contact me here if you would like to find out more.
My whole philosophy is to create a wonderfully welcoming atmosphere, combined with fine cuisine and wines. I delight in tailoring menus to your wishes, and combine this with the best local and seasonal produce where possible. Call me on 015395 87667 to chat about dates and requirements.

“A lovely evening. Melt in the mouth canapés, a beautiful dinner and excellent wines at a very reasonable cost. Will definitely return.”
The Axes and Newcombe dinner party guests – Loughborough and Lincolnshre – April 2013
*****
“Oh Edwina! What a wonderful evening we have had. The attention to detail is fantastic, and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the house. The food and wine was divine, and it was such a treat and just like being at home – so relaxing and comforting. Thank you so much. We will be back!”
The Roberts dining party – Kirkby Stephen – February 2013
*****
“Edwina welcomed us into her beautiful home. She remembered all our names from introduction! A very relaxed atmosphere and excellent food”
Christine Wilkinson (with party of eight diners) – Hartley – November 2012
*****
“Wow, wow, wow, what a fantastic experience! Edwina is a perfect host and the food, wine, the atmosphere, and the quality of surroundings couldn’t have been better. Thank you so much for having us x”
Dolores and Rob – Guiseley – October 2012
*****